CUSS Digest (June 2020)

CUSS Digest Banner

Dear all,

I am thinking of everyone and looking forward to coming together – virtually – in August with those who are able to participate in the remote ASA conference.  It is a crucial moment for urbanists to be in conversation with one another as our current context brings to light and exacerbates longstanding inequalities and injustice.  Racist state violence, police brutality, and protest suppression are pressing urban concerns that should be central to conversations within our subfield.  I will be in touch in coming weeks about plans for virtual section activities during the conference, and welcome emails (my address is below) from section members about how, as a section, we can elevate these concerns and conversations within and beyond our scholarship and meetings.

Below, you will find our June Digest.  Contents include:

A) Section Election Results

B) Section Award Winners



A. Section Election Results

I am pleased to announce the results of our annual election:

Chair-Elect (1-year term begins in 2020): Rachael Woldoff (West Virginia University)               

Council Members (3-year term begins in 2020):  Melissa M. Valle (Rutgers University-Newark) and Brandi Summers (University of California, Berkeley) 

Student Representative (1-year term): Allison Suppan Helmuth (University of Illinois-Chicago)       

Publications Committee (3-year term begins in 2020): Robin Bartram (Tulane University), Marco Garrido (University of Chicago) and Jeremy Levine (University of Michigan)

Membership Committee Chair (3-year term begins in 2020):  Ryan Centner (London School of Economics)           

Mentoring Committee Chair (3-year term begins in 2020): Emily C. Walton (Dartmouth College)

Finally, Greggor Mattson was elected secretary/treasurer but is unable to accept the position because he has an alternate obligation during our business meetings for the duration of his term.  Our section bylaws stipulate that in this situation a new secretary/treasurer must be nominated by our next chair and approved by the section council that will take office just after our (virtual) business meeting this August.  Given this, Derek Hyra, our current chair-elect, will work in consultation with our new council and make an announcement in late August about the appointment of a secretary/treasurer.  If you have any questions about this, please do not hesitate to email me.

Congratulations to the new officers and committee members, and many thanks to all of the candidates who agreed to run!  I also thank our terrific nominations committee: Zaire Dinzey-Flores (Chair), Ernesto Castañeda, and Richard Ocejo.

B. Section Award Winners

I am very happy to announce the winners of the 2020 Community and Urban Sociology Section Awards.

The 2020 Robert and Helen Lynd Award for Lifetime Achievement is awarded to:

Barrett Lee, Professor Emeritus, Sociology and Demography, Pennsylvania State University 

Thanks to committee members Kevin Fox Gotham (Chair), Sarah Mayorga-Gallo, Kristin Perkins, Jaleh Jalili, and John Eason. 


The Park Award Committee, Bruce Haynes (co-chair), Evelyn Perry (co-chair), Esther Sullivan, Max Besbris, and Junia Howell, selected two books that will share our 2020 Park Best Book Award:

Scott Frickel and James R. Elliott.  Sites Unseen:  Uncovering Hidden Hazards in American Cities (ASA Rose Monograph Series- Russell Sage 2018).

Maria G. Rendon. Stagnant Dreamers:  How the Inner City Shapes the Integration of Second Generation Latinos (Russell Sage 2019).


The Jane Addams Award for best article has been awarded to:

Hwang, Jackelyn. (2019). “Gentrification without Segregation? Race, Immigration, and Renewal in a Diversifying City,” City & Community.

Thanks to committee members Andrew Papachristos (Chair), Sara Bastomski, Meaghan Stiman, and Ana Villarreal.  


The Graduate Student Paper Award Committee, composed of Anna Rhodes (Chair),  Zachary Hyde, and Watoii Rabii, selected the following paper for our 2020 award:

Carlson, H. Jacob. 2020. “Measuring Displacement: Assessing Proxies for Involuntary Residential Mobility,” City & Community

They also awarded honorable mention to:

Herring, Chris. 2019. “Complaint-Oriented Policing: Regulating Homelessness in Public Space.” American Sociological Review 84(5): 769-800.

Please join me in congratulating our winners and thanking the awards committees for their thoughtful work.  We will honor the award recipients during our virtual business meeting in August, and will hope to toast them in person at our 2021 meeting.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.