Category Archives: Uncategorized

News & Notes

A. Call for Nominations for CUSS Positions

Section leadership is a great way to get involved in shaping the section’s makeup and direction. The nominations committee is accepting nominations (including self-nominations) for the following positions:

1 Chair (2 candidates, 1-year term)

1 Secretary/treasurer (2 candidates, 3-year term)

2 Council members (4 candidates, 3-year term)

1 Student representation (2 candidates, 1-year term)

2 Publications committee members (4 candidates, 3-year term)

Membership committee chair (2 candidates, 3-year term)

If interested in nominating others or yourself to any of these positions, please contact Zaire Dinzey at zdinzey@lcs.rutgers.edu. Thanks.

B. Call for Submissions, Section Awards

Please see below for calls for four section awards, including updated submission instructions.Community and Urban Sociology Section’s Robert E. Park Book Award

The Park Award (formerly the Park Book Award) goes to the author(s) of the best book published in the past two years (2018 and 2019). To nominate a book for this award: 1) By March 1 send an email nominating the book to Committee Co-Chair Evelyn Perry (perrye@rhodes.edu); and 2) When you nominate the book, you will receive an email with committee members’ addresses and additional instructions for the publisher.  Using those addresses and instructions, books should arrive to committee members by April 1.

Bruce Haynes (UC Davis) – Co-Chair
bdhaynes@ucdavis.edu

Evelyn Perry (Rhodes College) — Co-Chair
perrye@rhodes.edu

Esther Sullivan (University of Colorado, Denver)
ESTHER.SULLIVAN@UCDENVER.EDU

Max Besbris (Rice University)
mb89@rice.edu

Junia Howell (University of Pittsburgh)
juniahowell@pitt.edu
Community and Urban Sociology Section’s Jane Addams Article Award

The Jane Addams Award (formerly the Park Article Award) goes to authors of the best scholarly article in community and urban sociology published in the past two years (2018 or 2019).   Please send electronic copies of the paper via email to all four members of the committee by April 1, 2020.  Email addresses are listed below.

Andrew Papachristos (Northwestern University) – Chair
avp@northwestern.edu

Sara Bastomski (Urban Institute)
SBastomski@urban.org

Meaghan Stiman (College of William & Mary)
mlstiman@wm.edu

Ana Villarreal (Boston University)
anav@bu.edu

Community and Urban Sociology Graduate Student Paper Award

The CUSS Student Paper Award goes to the student author of the paper the award committee regards as the best graduate student paper in community and urban sociology.  Please send electronic copies to all three members of the committee by April 1, 2020. Email addresses are listed below.

Anna Rhodes (Rice University) – Chair
anna.rhodes@rice.edu

Zachary Hyde (University of British Columbia)
Zachary.hyde@alumni.ubc.ca

Watoii Rabii (Oakland University)
wrabii@oakland.edu

Community and Urban Sociology Section’s Robert and Helen Lynd Award for Lifetime Achievement

The Robert and Helen Lynd Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes distinguished career achievement in community and urban sociology.  Nominations are due by April 1, 2020.  Please send nominations to all five members of the committee.  Email addresses are below.

Kevin Gotham (Tulane University) – Chair
kgotham@tulane.edu

Sarah Mayorga-Gallo (UMASS Boston)
Sarah.MayorgaGallo@umb.edu

Kristin Perkins (Georgetown University)
Kristin.perkins@georgetown.edu

Jaleh Jalili (Oberlin College)
jjalili@oberlin.edu

John Eason (University of Wisconsin)
jeason2@wisc.edu

C. Section Sessions at ASA 2020

Thanks to our Conference Planning Committee (Jean Beaman, Maggie Kusenbach and Jessica Simes) for selecting four terrific sessions for the 2020 ASA Conference: “Power, Inequality and Resistance at Work”.  All sessions are open.  See the ASA website for submission deadlines and instructions.

Session 1: Cities and Big Data
Session Organizers: Daniel Silver and Fernando Calderón Figueroa

Session 2: Work, Community, and City
Session Organizer: Rachael Woldoff

Session 3: Theorizing the Renters and Rental Housing in the United States
Session Organizers: Christine Jang, Robin Bartram, and Steven Schmidt

Session 4: New forms of precarious urban labor
Session Organizers: Alexandrea Ravenelle and Sofya Aptekar

Community and Urban Sociology Section Roundtables
Session Organizers: Jennifer Candipan and Alfredo Huante

D. News and Announcements
Orly Clergé announces the publication of her book: The New Noir: Race, Identity, and Diaspora in Black Suburbia (UC Press, October 2019).

Call for Applications: Problem-Solving Sociology Dissertation Proposal Development Workshop

Doctoral students in departments of sociology who have not yet defended their dissertation proposals are invited to apply to a dissertation proposal development workshop on “problem solving sociology.”  Northwestern University will pay for economy-class airfare and accommodation in Evanston, IL, plus meals and transportation expenses, for a one-day workshop to be held on May 21, 2020.  This workshop is made possible by a grant from the National Science Foundation.

Read more